top of page

Thu, Apr 04

|

Butter and Bean (Tanger)

Queer Book Club

Open to all, this is primarily a space for queer folks to meet other people in the community and share their love of reading by diving into books that explore the queer identity!

Registration is closed
See other events
Queer Book Club
Queer Book Club

Time & Location

2 more dates

Apr 04, 2024, 6:30 PM – 7:40 PM

Butter and Bean (Tanger), 307 Stanley K Tanger Dr suite 307, Lancaster, PA 17602, USA

Guests

About the event

Hello! For April we will be reading Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin.

In this "fun, page-turner of a novel" (Sarah Haywood, New York Times bestselling author) that's perfect for fans of Mostly Dead Things and Goodbye, Vitamin, a morbidly anxious young woman stumbles into a job as a receptionist at a Catholic church and soon finds herself obsessed with her predecessor's mysterious death. Gilda, a twenty-something, atheist, animal-loving lesbian, cannot stop ruminating about death. Desperate for relief from her panicky mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local Catholic church, and finds herself being greeted by Father Jeff, who assumes she's there for a job interview. Too embarrassed to correct him, Gilda is abruptly hired to replace the recently deceased receptionist Grace. In between trying to memorize the lines to Catholic mass, hiding the fact that she has a new girlfriend, and erecting a dirty dish tower in her crumbling apartment, Gilda strikes up an email correspondence with Grace's old friend. She can't bear to ignore the kindly old woman who has been trying to reach her friend through the church inbox, but she also can't bring herself to break the bad news. Desperate, she begins impersonating Grace via email. But when the police discover suspicious circumstances surrounding Grace's death, Gilda may have to finally reveal the truth of her mortifying existence. With a "kindhearted heroine we all need right now" (Courtney Maum, New York Times bestselling author), Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling and "delightfully weird reminder that we will one day turn to dust and that yes, this is depressing, but it's also what makes life beautiful" (Jean Kyoung Frazier, author of Pizza Girl).

To prepare for this meeting! -

To purchase online please use this link! This will take you to Read Rose Books on Bookshop.org.

This book is available for free through the Library!

Join the Conversation on Discord!

Resources to Access Books:

Lancaster Library

Hoopla App - Library Card Needed

Libby App - Library Card Needed

https://bookshop.org/shop/readrosebooks - Physical copy available for purchase and supports Read Rose Books

https://libro.fm/readrosebooks - Audiobooks available for purchase and supports Read Rose Books

Share this event

bottom of page